Mitchell Starc Ties Shahid Afridi’s ODI Record India vs Australia

Waqar Younis, a former captain of the Pakistan cricket team, remains in the top spot.

With his outstanding swing and seam that propelled Australia to a series-leveling 10-wicket victory over India on Sunday, Australian pace spearhead Mitchell Starc moved into third place, joining Pakistan great Shahid Afridi, for the most five-wicket hauls in ODIs.

In Visakhapatnam, left-arm fast Starc shook the Indian batting order with his pace and swing to bowl them out for just 117 in just 26 overs.

The ICC published a photo of the new positions, with Mitchell Starc wearing number three and boasting nine five-fors in men’s ODIs.

Waqar Younis, a former captain of the Pakistan cricket team, is still in the lead with 13 five-fors.

With nine five-fors each, Afridi, Starc, and Brett Lee tie for third place.

In the second one-day international on Sunday, Starc spearheaded an effective pace attack with a five-wicket haul that helped bowl India out for a meagre 117.

Australia recovered from their early defeat to complete the chase with 39 overs remaining, handing India their greatest ODI loss in terms of remaining balls.

Once the tourists made the decision to bowl first due to overnight rain, Starc spearheaded the team’s deadly attack by taking out Shubman Gill for a duck.

Man of the Match Starc told broadcasters Star Sports, “That was a terrific day for us.

The bowling unit, as far as I could tell, was very precise. Although I thought we bowled fairly excellent areas, I suppose the weather conditions helped the ball swing a little. As we started to take a few wickets during the powerplay, we were perhaps being more aggressive.”

Marsh applauded Starc and stood out with a blistering knock that contained six fours and six sixes.

“That was enjoyable to observe. You are aware of his abilities with the white ball, particularly while he is swinging it. As Marsh put it, “he is the best in the world.

India was put on the back foot when Starc struck again in quick succession to dismiss returning captain Rohit Sharma for 13 and then Suryakumar Yadav for a second consecutive first-ball duck.

Leave a Comment