Sri Lanka’s white-ball series in New Zealand will be led by Dasun Shanaka

Dushmantha Chameera is still recovering from an injury, so he wasn’t picked for either of Sri Lanka’s white-ball teams for the upcoming series against New Zealand. On the other hand, young slinger-action paceman Matheesha Pathirana was picked for both the one-day and T-20 teams. Sri Lanka Cricket made the one-day and T20 teams official yesterday. Chameera was picked for both teams before, as long as he was healthy enough to play, but he hasn’t fully recovered enough to play in the series.

Dasun Shanaka was named captain of both the ODI and T20 teams. Kusal Mendis was named to the ODI squad, and Wanindu Hasarsenga was named vice captain of the T20 team.

Sadeera Samarawickrama was chosen for both the ODI and T20I teams. Sahan Arachchige, an all-rounder from the NCC, was picked for the ODI team for the first time.

Dunith Wellalage, a young leg spinner, is in both squads. Nuwanindu Fernando, a fast opener, was picked for the ODI squad. Angelo Mathews, who has a lot of experience, has been brought back into the ODI squad.

Sri Lanka’s White Ball team is expected to leave next week, and the first ODI will take place in Auckland on March 25.

Sri Lanka’s ODI squad

Dasun Shanaka, Kusal Mendis,  Pathum Nissanka, Nuwanidu Fernando, Angelo Mathews, Charith Asalanka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dhananjaya De Silva, Sahan Arachchige, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dunith Wellalage, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Pramod Madushan, Dilshan Madushanka, Chamika Karunaratne, Matheeesha Pathirana

Sri Lanka T20 Squad

Dasun Shanaka (Captain), Wanindu Hasaranga (Vice Captain), Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya De Silva, Charith Asalanka, Kusal Janith Perera, Lasith Croospulle, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Nuwanidu Fernando, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, and Dilshan Madushanka

Leave a Comment